Help, I’ve Slept and I Can’t Get Up!

September 23, 2010

I missed a 10:10am physics lecture earlier this week, a mistake that went unpunished but still had consequences. I didn’t understand anything in lecture today, and I felt like I was leagues behind my classmates.

Who am I kidding, I’m always leagues behind my classmates. They’re all friggin’ geniuses; the kind of people who’ll be working on the LHC someday. They ask questions in class about stuff I’ve never even heard of, as I’m still squinting my eyes trying to make sense of all the numbers and symbols on the blackboard. But I digress.

I woke up when my alarm went off at 9:30 am, and as I got up to silence the beeping I thought: “My class isn’t until 10:10am, I can sleep for another five minutes, no problem.” I jumped back in bed and closed my eyes, taking in all the warm comforts of my sheets and pillow. Truly, getting back into bed after waking up is one of the best feelings a person can experience. It usually makes for memorable dreams too.

I woke up a few minutes later, and felt too lazy and tired to check my clock. It felt like two or three minutes had passed, so I wasn’t worried. I went back to bed. Another epic dream (wish I remembered it.)

By the third time I awoke, I figured it was time to get moving. I tried to get up, but I was still too tired to lift my head off the pillow. I tried again and again, until finally I had elevated my eyes just barely enough to glimpse the time on the clock.

10:00 am.

Fuck.

For the benefit of understanding my conundrum, please allow me to personify my body for the following inner conflict that took place at this point.

Mike: “Oh shit, 10 o’clock? I gotta get out of bed and go right away if I want to get to class!”

Body: “Dude just stay in bed, it’s not worth it.”

Mike: “But… it’s my physics lecture, I need to go. It’s my major after all.”

Body: “Nah, you just stay right here. This bed is really comfy. They don’t even take attendance in that class! Just stay here, if you do then you’ll be all rested and feel great for the rest of the day.”

Mike: “But I need to go to physics! It’s super hard and if I miss even one class I’ll be so behind, then I’ll have to get a tutor because I won’t understand anything anymore, and I don’t want a tutor, that’s awkward! I don’t want to talk to a stranger! You know how awkward I am.”

Body: “I SWEAR TO GOD IF YOU TRY TO GET OUT OF THIS BED I WILL FUCKING KILL YOU!”

So… I stayed in bed. And I slept through physics (to my surprise I actually mustered the willpower to go to my next class, but only because it’s my favorite class.)

You’ve won this round, body, but the war isn’t over. I promise you, someday I will start going to sleep before midnight and I will pass my physics class. And who’ll be laughing then?! Me! Ha-haaa!

Well technically both of us, since you are me. But still. Ha.

One Response to “Help, I’ve Slept and I Can’t Get Up!”

  1. I haven’t had to battle my body to get up for a class since Friday when I went back to bed after getting up at 7:15am when my alarm stirred me for my 8:00am Exploring the Universe lab, an approximated 20 minute drive away that I needed 10 minutes to prepare for.

    All of this considered, I was a half hour late, and completed the lab before 2 other classmates.

    I love my bed so hard.

Leave a Reply

