Art and I

July 10, 2010

“Hey Ham look, I’m Picasso!”…….“I don’t get it.”

I think the idea that a person can be left-brained or right-brained is seriously really cool. It’s interesting that although such variation exists among people, oftentimes those differences can be categorized using only two groups.

The left-brained are strong in mathematics, logical reasoning, and are generally well versed in vocabulary and grammar. These people do well in math, science, and history classes, and tend to choose careers that are rooted in these subjects.

The right brained are strong in linguistics, spatial perception, approximation, and most notably: artistic ability. This usually results in people who don’t succeed outright as often in school. This isn’t because they’re less intelligent, but because most school curriculum is based on left-brain functions such as exact calculation and fact-retrieval. The right brain is more suited for approximation and looking at wholes, instead of parts.

Everyone uses both sides, but one is generally dominant over the other. As a physics major, I find that there isn’t much room for debate on whether I’m left or right-brained. However, I do possess some measure of art within me.

I’m a singer, and I’ve played the saxophone and piano. Granted I’m not the best at any of those, but I take pride in the fact that I’m not tone-deaf like most of my friends. Although keeping time (“1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and…”) is a left-brain function, recognizing pitches and sounds and intonation is a function of the right-brain.

I doodled a lot in middle school, and the results weren’t exactly professional, but a few months ago I attempted it again and I don’t think it came out awful? I found the random drawing yesterday while digging through my room. I think I was going to add more to it, but for some reason I stopped.

 

Art?

 

My scanner doesn’t do it justice, it makes the lines less visible and the page darker. Haha nah who am I kidding it sucks.

It’s difficult to describe, but I feel like I took a left brain approach to drawing this. I was creating the lines in parts and sections, never seeing the finished product in my head like most right-brains are said to do. I have no clue what to make of it, but it was cool to realize that I’m capable of visual art, even if it’s this basic.

I think the reason art is so fascinating to me is because it’s so personal and individual, and also because I’ll probably never understand how to do it.

I’ve definitely noticed a trend where the girls I form the closest bonds with tend to be right-brained and the guys I’m close with tend to be left-brained. There are exceptions obviously, but the trend remains. I don’t know what to make of that either; and it’s probably not even significant. But it is kinda cool.

Wow, this post was overly ramble-ish. Sorry!

Hi, Jess.

3 Responses to “Art and I”

  1. Jess said

    YAY I WIN.

  2. tcons said

    LEFTBRAINED. HAH!

  3. Jess said

    i’m use both. so hmph, take that.

Leave a Reply

