Beat LA! Or… don’t.

June 18, 2010

Mere hours ago the Celtics were defeated in game 7 of the NBA championship. But I don’t know that because I watched the game; I know because of the multitude of angry status updates that flooded my news feed on facebook.

You’re probably wondering why I wasn’t watching the game myself. Wait, you’re not? Oh, uh… well. Then I guess that ends this post.

Nah, I’ll tell you anyways.

Ever since I was old enough to understand what sports were, I have always been absolutely and completely un-fascinated by them. A few people running around in a confined space moving balls around? (No euphemism intended.) To me, that doesn’t seem worthy of the importance our society gives it. Sure sports can be fun and it’s a good way to get excercise, but why the obsession? Why do some people know the name of the head coach of the Miami Dolphins in 1974, or Jason Giambi’s batting average?

I played soccer, basketball and baseball throughout elementary school. The coaches would make you practice and work hard, parents would attend the games, and anyone who was interested could come and watch. It was a commitment, but it wasn’t a huge deal, and in the end winning wasn’t important as long as we tried our best. That’s the level of significance I always thought national sports should have.

So much money goes into and comes out of sports, but why? Why are so many people watching? Why are they fascinated by the moving of the balls? It’s a pretty good method of deciding who is physically superior to who, but that’s all I can see in it. Am I missing something here? Or is it just an in-born appreciation that I lack?

I know these things have their place, but I don’t feel like I’m missing anything important by not watching the NBA championship. Tomorrow will be exactly the same for me as it would have been had the Celtics won.

Am I alone here? My point isn’t to say “Sports are dumb and only dumb people like them.” Far from it. I love when Boston teams win because everyone around me is unified in happiness and celebration, and it takes not only expert ability but courage to perform for such a large audience. I just don’t understand the fascination in the game itself.

Go Blackhawks!

5 Responses to “Beat LA! Or… don’t.”

  1. Arlee Bird said

    I agree with what you’re saying—always have. I did watch most of the last playoff game, parts of the previous ones, but none of any of the season games. They were talking about people who had paid as much as $4500 per ticket to the game. Talk about misplaced priorities!

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Jess said

    hi. not to be creepy but i saw your blog on facebook and started reading it and it entertains me late at night with nothing to do. but anyways, yes i agree with you. whenever i end up having to watch sports i just stare at the television screen and completely zone out. it doesn’t interest me. but also… angry facebook statuses about the celtics flooded my newsfeed as well, so i feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

