Speaking vs. Writing vs. Typing

June 10, 2010

Speak: (v.) to utter words or articulate sounds with the ordinary voice; to express thoughts, opinions, or feelings orally.

[“So I had this uh, this dream the other night. Not last night, but, the night before that, I think. Or was it last night? No, wait, no, I don’t know, I think it was last night. But anyways haha, uh, yea I mean it was like, I mean, well, I don’t know, it was really cool, friggin’ awesome, it was like, uhhh, I’m not sure how to say this. Like, imagine you’re, like, I don’t know flying, cause you have powers, and like, you see a guy, and like you fly over him, but I mean, not over him just, around him? I don’t know but, in my dream I was flying and I did that, and that was my dream. It was so awesome.”]

 Write: (v.) to form characters or symbols on a surface with an instrument in order to express language in literary form.

[I was having had a dream last night. It was really cool, but I and I wanted to share<it>with you. In my dream I had <super>powers, and I was flying in my dream over this guy a person, and he called out to me, but I coudlntf couldn’t hear him. It was weird a peculiar dream indeed.]

Type: (v.) to mechanically produce characters or documents using a keyboard for a typewriter or computer.

[Do you ever have strange dreams where you’re doing something amazing, but you don’t even realize how amazing it is, because you’re in the dream? I experienced this the other night, when I dreamed that I had superpowers and was flying around my town saving lives, as well as testing my powers by setting off nuclear bombs and playing happily within the blast, completely unharmed. Oddly enough, it didn’t even register that such a situation was out of the ordinary, and so I thought nothing of it when a man on the street yelled to me as a flew around him, telling me to stop setting off nuclear bombs. I couldn’t hear him, yet somehow I knew what he was saying, so I stopped. “Whatever,” I said, “they’re just bombs.” That guy was a buzz kill.]

Despite the drawbacks involved with text, such as loss of emotional cues and difficulty with sarcasm, typing is my favorite way of getting my point across. Unlike with speaking, I have all the time in the world to think about what I’m going to say. Writing has a more personal touch, but the fact that I can’t backspace makes things way more stressful. Sure I can erase pencil marks, but that makes me look like a stupid mistake-making idiot. When I type I can create the illusion of flawless grammar and spelling, as well as go back and change my phrasing later if something looks awkward.

I think that’s the reason I enjoy having this blog so much. It’s the easiest way to get out what I’m really thinking. And I can do this: (>0_0)>

3 Responses to “Speaking vs. Writing vs. Typing”

  1. I have to agree. If I’m producing something for someone else I would rather type it than communicate in any other form. Speaking is too difficult because you don’t have the time to formulate your response. Hand writing is just asking for disaster. Typing, defintely the way to go.
    Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Arlee Bird said

    I can barely write anymore, and you’re right about speaking and the spontaneity involved. Typing on computers with word processing programs is definitely the way to go, but it kind of sucked back when you had the old manual and electric typewriters and making a mistake was a major hassle.

    Good luck with your new blogging enterprise.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  3. milkfever said

    I think it’s all connected. These words being expressed in different forms. And blogging is such a brilliant way of laying it all out in front of you to experience. In the end it all comes down to how it resonates inside the head.
    Great post.

Leave a Reply

