There’s Something in the Beach!

June 3, 2010

Given how close I live to the coast, it’s interesting how few times I’ve actually gone to the beach in my life. If I had to guess, I’d say I’ve been to a legitimate sand and ocean beach somewhere around 15 times total. That might be normal for someone who lives in say… Kansas. But I’m a Masshole; a Boston area Masshole at that.

That made it all the more thrilling when I knew I was going today. Thoughts of ocean air, and the sunlight I’m so dreadfully deprived of, filled me with wonder when my friends extended the invitation, a feeling akin to the wonder of a little Jewish boy being invited to a Christmas party. (FYI that’s awesome.)

To my surprise however, the UV rays weren’t exactly pouring in when we arrived. In fact it reminded me of something from a movie that I couldn’t quite put my finger on.

Needless to say, the weather wasn’t great. I didn’t even put my entire foot in the water for fear of having to saw it off later. Hypothermia is the leading cause of cold people death after all. No, I was content to nap on someone’s towel while they braved the arctic waves, and I still had to try to lay low enough to the ground so the breeze alone wouldn’t kill me.

In the end we were able to make it fun, but still I wonder… where did all the summer go? BP probably stole it, knowing them. Goddamn BP.

Leave a Reply

